Skip to main content

Up-Scaling Climate Smart Agricultural Practices

This component supports interventions that promote adoption of improved agricultural Technologies,  Innovations, and Management Practices (TIMPs) to achieve increased productivity and  enhance copying mechanisms to climate change risks among beneficiaries. It is implemented through three sub-components:

  • Building Institutional Capacity and Strengthening Service Delivery: This sub-component supports institutional capacity building at county, ward, and community levels to plan, implement, and monitor ward/county sub-projects as well as  community micro-projects.
  • Supporting  Investments in Smallholder Agro-pastoral Production systems: This sub-component supports community micro-projects identified through community participation in seventeen semi-arid and medium to high potential project counties. This includes improving water and soil investments, promoting livelihood and crop diversification, dairy farming and agro-forestry as well as  small scale farmer managed irrigation schemes.
  • Supporting  Investments in Pastoral Production Systems: This sub-component is supporting the operationalization of the North Eastern Development Initiative (NEDI) in seven   counties of  Marsabit, Isiolo, Tana River, Garissa, Wajir, Mandera and Lamu.  The initiative involves a  landscape management approach to pastoral production system and focuses on increasing productivity of livestock systems, integrated soil fertility and sustainable land management , supporting market access, infrastructure for value addition among others.

This  component is being implemented in  twenty four counties namely:

Arid Counties: Marsabit, Isiolo, Tana River, Garissa, Wajir, Mander.a.

Semi-Arid Counties: West Pokot, Baringo, Laikipia, Machakos, Nyeri, Tharaka Nithi, Lamu, Taita Taveta, Kajiado.

Medium-to-High Rainfall Counties: Busia, Siaya, Nyandarua, Bomet, Kericho, Kakamega, Uasin Gishu, Elgeyo Marakwet, Kisumu.

This component is  implemented by the respective county governments.